Koltan Nelson

I am a 24 year old living in Capitol Hill. I am passionate about equity, dogs, and the outdoors. One of my favorite books is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, and my dog and I hike a 14er each week in the summer!

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
An eclectic group of chosen folks. Driven, inspired, creative people.

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
I started as a server – now I work with dogs and their people to use a force free approach in their training (and hopefully they carry it into their interpersonal interactions).

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
Welton St. Cafe, Uncle, Angelo’s

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
7 years.

Q: Who is the most interesting person you’ve met here in our community?
My neighbor, whose lived in our building for a long time, is always telling me stories about our unit and its history of working girls.

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
Greece. Culture + beach = heaven.

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
Girl Interrupted, The United States of Tara

Q: What advice would you give to people?
Be nice to people, do whatever you want, and the only thing you have that no one else does is yourself.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
Mentor someone in business ownership.

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
SZA

Q: What current or former local business makes you the most nostalgic about our community?
Bardo Coffeehouse

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
Amanda Lepore – I am enamored by people who balance internal and external beauty. Barolo Grill – she deserves it.

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
I like running into people I’ve met again and again – the neighborhood feel.

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
Owning a home, mentoring, expanding my business, a house full of dogs.

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
I was a double major in Math and Gender Studies.

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
Lakes of the Clouds in Westcliff, CO

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
August, my dog’s birthday, July 22.

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
Heated steering wheels.

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
Myself.

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Campfires and hot coffee.

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Connection, heart, trust.